Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development
Free Hotline 0800 229 229 Mon – Fri  9am – 5pm


Urban Discretionary Development Equalisation Grant (Urban DDEG)


The Discretionary Development Equalisation Grants are structured in two portions as follows:

i) The District Discretionary Development Equalisation Grant

ii) The Urban Discretionary Development Equalisation Grant

These elements aim to address development needs of district and urban areas respectively.  This page provides information on the Urban Discretionary Development Equalisation grants.


In line with the Inter-governmental Fiscal Transfer Reform Programme, allocations to Local Government are formula based.  The Urban DDEG is allocated to Municipal Councils, Towns and Divisions.  The Municipal Council and Division elements receive allocations based on formulae according to USMID classification.  This creates the five subgrants you can explore below: